Nigerian Law Resources

Nigerian Law, Nigerian Legal Articles, Legal eBooks & Books on Nigeria

Nigerian Law Resources Search Engine

Nigerian Legal Education

Nigerian Legal Education: Council of Legal Education and the Nigerian Law School

Nigerian legal education encompasses all the processes and institutions involved in acquiring the requisite training and qualifications for becoming a legal practitioner in Nigeria (a Barrister and Solicitor of the supreme Court of Nigeria). The Nigerian Council of Legal Education regulates legal education for legal practice in Nigeria: approves law degrees in Nigerian universities (Bachelor of Laws) and law degrees of universities in other countries for purposes of admission into the Nigerian Law School, which provides compulsory professional legal training for legal practitioners in the Nigerian legal jurisdiction. This Nigerian legal education webpage features useful information on various aspects of legal education in the Nigerian legal system.

Introduction to Nigerian Legal Education By Leesi Ebenezer Mitee

Copyright © 2008 Leesi Ebenezer Mitee

Historical Background

The legal profession as we have it today in Nigeria (including Nigerian legal education)  is a relic of British colonization that was imposed on our traditional legal system in 1862 when Lagos was created a British colony. In the same year, a court was established in Lagos. In 1863, one year later, English law was established in the Colony of Lagos with 25 Ordinances, chief among which were Applying Laws of England to the Settlement Ordinance No. 3 of 1863;Supreme Court Ordinance No. 11 of 1863; and Supreme Court Ordinance No. 13 of 1863. . . Continue reading

Campuses of the Nigerian Law School

The Nigerian Law School was established in 1962, and was located in Lagos, the Capital City of Nigeria. With the Federal Capital Territory, Abuja, becoming the new Capital of Nigeria, the Nigerian Law School headquarters was relocated to Abuja in 1997. Thereafter, it became necessary to have campuses of the Nigerian Law School in different States in Nigeria. Today, there are six campuses of the Nigerian Law School to facilitate Nigerian legal education:

  • Abuja (Bwari, Federal Capital Territory)
  • Agbani (Enugu State)
  • Bagauda (Kano State)
  • Lagos (Victoria Island, Lagos State)
  • Yenagoa (Bayelsa State)
  • Yola (Adamawa State)

Directory of Nigerian Universities that offer Bachelor of Laws Degrees

• Abia State University, Uturu (State). Website:

• Adekunle Ajasin University, Akungba-Akoko, Ondo State (State). Website:

• Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, Kaduna State (Federal). Website:

• Ambrose Alli University, Ekpoma, Edo State (State). Website:

• Anambra State University, Uli (State). Website:

• Babcock University, Illishan-Remo, Ogun State (Private). Website:

• Bayero University, Kano, Kano State (Federal). Website:

• Benson Idahosa University, Benin City, Edo State (Private). Website:

• Benue State University, Makurdi (State). Website:

• Delta State University, Abraka (State). Website:

• Ebonyi State University, Abakaliki (State). Website:

• Enugu State University of Science and Technology, Enugu (State). Website:

• Ibrahim Badamasi Babangida University, Lapai, Niger State (Private). Website:

• Igbinedion University, Okada, Edo State (Private). Website:

• Imo State University, Owerri (State). Website:

• Lagos State University Ojo, Lagos (State). Website:

• Lead City University, Ibadan, Oyo State (Private). Website:

• Madonna University, Okija (Private). Website:

• Nasarawa State University, Keffi (State). Website:

• Niger Delta Unversity, Yenagoa, Bayelsa State (State). Website:

• Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka, Anambra State (Federal). Website:

• Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife, Osun State (Federal). Website:

• Rivers State University of Science & Technology, Port Harcourt (State). Website:

• University of Abuja, Gwagwalada, Federal Capital Territory. Website:

• University of Ado-Ekiti, Ekiti State. Website:

• University of Benin, Edo State (Federal). Website:

• University of Calabar, Cross River State (Federal). Website:

• University of Ibadan, Oyo State (Federal). Website:

• University of Ilorin, Kwara State (Federal). Website:

• University of Jos, Plateau State (Federal). Website:

• University of Lagos, Lagos State (Federal). Website:

• University of Maiduguri, Borno State (Federal). Website:

• University of Nigeria, Nsukka, Enugu State (Federal). Website:

• University of Uyo, Akwa Ibom State (Federal). Website:

• Usuman Danfodiyo University, Sokoto, Sokoto State (Federal). Website:

NOTE: This list may not be exhaustive. We will update it from time to time. as soon as possible.

Directory of Nigerian Universities and other Schools that offer Law Diploma

• Adekunle Ajasin University, Akungba-Akoko, Ondo State (State). Website:

• Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, Kaduna State (Federal). Website:

• Bayero University, Kano, Kano State (Federal). Website:

• Madonna University, Okija (Private). Website:

• Rivers State College of Arts & Science, Port Harcourt (State). Website:

• University of Lagos, Lagos State (Federal). Website:



These lists may not be exhaustive. Nigerian Law Resources is not responsible in any manner whatsoever for any consequence from your reliance on them.




Leave a Reply

Copyright © 2016 Nigerian Law Resources | All Rights Reserved | Privacy Policy